Main Content

Who we are

Civil Air Patrol

Since early 1941, the Civil Air Patrol and its almost 60,000 vigilant civilian volunteers nationwide have been serving communities on land and in the air. Better known as "CAP", the Civil Air Patrol is the official auxiliary of the United States Air Force and part of the USAF Total Force. Its three primary missions of Aerospace Education, Cadet Programs, and Emergency Services give ordinary citizens age twelve and up an opportunity to learn new skills and put experience to good use as they serve community, state and nation.


Lynchburg Composite Squadron

Lynchburg Composite Squadron and the other 1500 squadrons across the country serve their communities through three congressional assigned key missions: Aerospace Education, Cadet Programs, and Emergency Services. Both youth and adults train for and participate in various rolls and duties. Each mission is unique, but part of Civil Air Patrol’s purpose is to be always ready to support its members and communities.

Civil Air Patrol Geographical Regions:

CAP is organized into eight regions which are subdivided into 52 wings. These wings are the 50 U.S. states plus the National Capital and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. Each wing is further divided into groups, squadrons, and flights, as necessary   


Lynchburg Composite Squadron is part of Group 1 within the Virginia Wing in the Mid-Atlantic Region (MAR).

Other Mid-Atlantic Wings include: Delaware Wing, Maryland Wing, National Capital Wing, North Carolina Wing, South Carolina Wing, and West Virginia Wing.


“Supporting America’s communities with emergency response, diverse aviation and ground services, youth development, and promotion of air, space and cyber power.”

© 2022 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.